A Country Drive-Newburgh

 

Heading into Newburgh, or Rogue’s Hollow, as the locals like to call it.

A beautiful property next to a little river.  This is where the Art Among the Ruins is held each year.  The ruin is the stone wall to the right.

I love this old rickety building with its ancient lamp.

Ahhhh, summer.

Doesn’t take long to get to the edge of town.  The Cataraqui Trail goes right by here.

This place’s garden has matured a lot since first I saw it five years ago.   It is looking lush and gorgeous.

There isn’t a lot in Newburgh–a bakery and a little shop or two that are open very limited hours.   I guess I love the stream running through and the hills surrounding it and lovely old houses.   I don’t know for sure but my guess is that they have a very good community life there.   What I do know is that for me–it was love at first sight.

A immaculate garden in Yarker.

Isn’t this a pretty scene, between Yarker and Colebrook?   It almost inspires me to paint it.

I forgot to take my camera out today, but will try to get some shots tomorrow–of something.  We’ll see where I end up.

 

Leave a Reply

