Going to the Regent Theatre

On Saturday I had a little jaunt over to Picton to see Spencer Evans play Fats Domino, Ray Charles and Jerry Lee Lewis at the Regent Theatre.  I had seen Spencer do a few things around Kingston but this was the first time I had seen a serious gig, and I was blown away.  He plays the piano like a wild man, leaps on the piano bench and plays a clarinet and had he has a fantastic voice.  I can’t believe that we have all these people here in Kingston who aren’t famous!

Anyway, here we go with an evening in Picton…

“I’m free!!!”

They seem to be getting nowhere fast at the Royal Hotel.  This has been going on for years now.

The weird intersection where four streets and a Tim Hortons driveway all converge.  It’s as confusing as the Town Hill.

Water is still high in the region.   This is the parking lot to the Picton Yacht Club.  When I came off the bridge into Prince Edward County,  there was a big sign saying that sandbags were available.

Picton Bay.

Lovely evening light illumines the lawyer, Sir John A. Macdonald, with the Picton Library behind him.   You can sit in the box and pretend you’re in court.

Interesting details.

The show begins.  I thought I would take a photo while everyone was still, because my poor rickety old camera doesn’t do indoor photos well.  I knew that it wouldn’t be long before Spencer started leaping about.

See?

I drove home via the Glenora Ferry and as I drove along the lake, the full moon shone a wide swath across the dark water.  That is always a gorgeous drive home, even in the dark.  I’m so glad I went.

Last time I posted a Picton blog, I tried to find my Stuart McLean piece about the town.  I didn’t find it then, but it did turn up later.  I am now trying to share it with you, but there is not a link I can copy.  Anyway, it is the Vinyl Café show from 2009-11-21, if anyone cares to try and find it.

Tomorrow we’ll finish off in Toronto and then the next day we will be off to Wolfe Island.

 

 

Leave a Reply

