Bones!

I think I’d only been to the ROM once before so I figured it was time to go again.  I looked at a show about Ghanaian textiles and saw some ancient artifacts from around the world, but the most popular with the families is, of course, the dinosaurs.  I like ’em too.

They had shelves of tiny soldiers of all nationalities, even Mounties, in one of the stairwells.

African masks from the artifact collection.

This is a huge piece of art, maybe about 20 feet by 30 feet.  It is made of discarded pop cans and is quite amazing.  I tried to memorize the artist’s name, an African man–but I should have taken a picture of the information, because my brain is too feeble and I can’t find it on their website.  I’ve just sent them an e-mail.  I’ll let you know when I find it.  It must have taken months and months, if not years to do, and would be so difficult to move!

An assortment of skeletons.  I think the one closest is a sabre toothed cat of some sort.  I didn’t write down any names because my feet were sore and I was uncomfortable, but they are pretty cool anyway.

I liked this big bruiser.  I’d say it was about 3 1/2 feet high by 3 feet wide.

Something with big teeth and claws.  It looks pretty scary, even tens of thousands of years later.

There was a mastodon skeleton, and it was a huge thing.  A photo never would have done it justice.  It was probably another third larger than a big bull elephant.

They had big aviaries of stuffed birds in flight.  This is a Royal Albatross and the wing span was about 10 feet!  Massive bird!

I can’t say that I’m that keen on the modernistic cube that has been added to the Bloor Street side of the museum, especially on the inside, but this is glorious!

The cube.

Tomorrow:  Yorkville and Kensington Market.

 

Leave a Reply

