Gatineau and Merrickville

Today was one vile day in Kingston.  We had icy, slushy snow, driven by a blustering wind, pretty much all day long.  It is raining now, and the snow is mostly gone.  There were at least three accidents on the 401 as I was listening to the radio this afternoon–two at Gardiner’s Road and one at Sydenham Rd.   So I guess the weather when I went over to Gatineau could have been worse.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two more of Wakefield.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Along the Gatineau River.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I take it these tracks aren’t used much.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As we crossed over to the Ottawa side of the river, the sun came out and shone on the faraway hills.  It was a glorious evening.   Grrrrrrrrr.  Of course it was, and it stayed clear and cloudless until the late wee hours and then clouded over again when I was supposed to go bike riding with a friend.   The weather was just too dodgy.   They were expecting some flurries, and did get some later in the day.  I left for Kingston earlier than planned.

My cousin told me that Merrickville was a pretty place, so I thought I would take the scenic tour down that way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is a very charming town–a hot spot in the summer because it is on the Rideau River.  There are locks there and lots of boaters coming through.   The Rideau Canal was built as a defense route, and each lock station has a blockhouse.  Behind me in the last picture is a big one.   I stopped for some lunch and looked in a few shops and had a perfectly pleasing time.

More from my leisurely five hour trip home tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

