Montreal Street 1

It was a bit of a strange day today.   I decided to go out for brunch and then over to the market, and then for a bike ride out Montreal Street.   I was going to go to  Milestones, in the old S&R building.   However, looking at the menu, I found that they had gotten rid of my favourite item, which I had been looking forward to.   Milestones was my favourite restaurant in Vancouver for years, but I haven’t warmed to the one here.

I went across the street to Pan Chancho and had a very tasty meal on the patio.   The sun was out and warm, and it was all quite delightful.  Just as I was finishing my meal, the clouds were coming in, and by the time I was at the market, the temperature seemed to have dropped ten degrees. (Last night at 10pm, the Weather Network said it was 25 degrees!)   I visited at the market for a bit, and then headed home, to wait for things to brighten up again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two shots of a house on Markland St.   Definite curb appeal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These little garden islands have been put in along Princess Street, all with these cute little signs.

By 5:00, the sun was back out, but I had been working around the house all afternoon and decided to go by car.   I’m glad I did.   It was really chilly!

Over the last while I have noticed things that I wanted to take pictures of along Montreal Street, but haven’t had time to stop.   Today I did stop, but ran out of light eventually.  I would still like to do it by bike soon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two oldies but goodies next to the old Rideaucrest building.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The former business of I. Cohen, Steel Distributors.   I think it has been closed down for a long time, but it looks like they are now going to knock it down.   They have opened up the boarded up doors and there is machinery out front.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This building at the corner of Montreal and Railway looks very much as it always has.  It is now the offices of Town Homes Kingston.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quattrocchi’s needs no introduction–a north end fixture for decades.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Something is going on here, across from Quattrocchi’s.   The bush has been cleared out and a path put through.   They are putting through the K&P Trail from downtown to the western end of Dalton Street, so my guess is that this is it.

More tomorrow, but I will show you tonight’s sunset, from Rideau Heights Public School.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was already dying down very quickly when I took this.  I should have taken one looking along John Counter Blvd.   It was fabulous!

Leave a Reply

