A Walk

At Bur Brook Road and Division Street there is a trail that goes east towards Battersea Road.   The other end used to be called Bur Brook Rd, but I have noticed that it is now  called Maple Lawn Rd.   I kept looking along this trail, but in four years I haven’t actually gone down it, so I figured it was time to change that.

I’m not actually sure if I have been along this trail before.  I know that 30 years ago, I used to ride my bike from downtown, out to Sydenham Rd, along Sunnyside Rd. up to Bur Brook and head east.  I’m sure I went as far as Montreal St., but I don’t remember this being a trail before.  I don’t imagine it could have been anything else though, because it is pretty much swamp on either side–not fields.   Does anyone out there remember what this area was like 30 years ago?

Anyway, it was a wonderful, delightful walk.  Most of the day had been cloudy, but the sun came out just before I left.   The smells were amazing-decay, damp earth, flowers, ripeness.  I just loved the whole sensory experience.

Before we get started though–look what is happening to QECVI.   😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was talking to the librarian at the Kingscourt Branch today.  They will be tearing that down in the spring.  There will be a new branch going into Rideau Heights.   I wondered why they hadn’t re-built the Kingscourt branch like they had all the others.  I loved that it was just like it was when I went to high school next door.   Now I know why it was left that way.

On to the happier part of our story…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is an area just north of here that is given over to a mountain bike club.  I would have taken a picture of their trails, but I ran out of batteries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Googling tells me that these are probably serviceberries.   They are edible, enjoyed by humans and wildlife.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tiny asters.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was a big Pine (?) tree, but half the needles were yellow.  Damage from the drought?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Honeysuckle?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Holy Phragmites!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I want to get back to this trail very soon, now that I have discovered it.   Further along the path, there is a ridge that runs along to the south, and that should look quite fabulous in a couple of weeks, in full colour.    I’d also like to collect some fall colour for a couple of my elderly friends who can’t get out to these places.  Can’t wait to get back there.

 

Leave a Reply

