Douglas Fluhrer Park

Summer continues to hold on, with high temperatures and lots of sunshine.  Last week I had a packed breakfast behind the Woolen Mill twice.   What a serene and peaceful place.   What a shame it would be if the city put the Wellington Street extension through.   All Kingston’s other parks have roads all around them, but Douglas Fluhrer Park just has the river.   Let’s keep it that way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My views at breakfast.  Those ribs are from a sunken barge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Relaxing in the shade.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I just told a friend the other day that we didn’t have coots here.   There are three on this log!    I love it.  I miss the little coots from Stanley Park in Vancouver, with their pear shaped bodies and their funny striped feet.   I have never seen one here before, and these weren’t easily seen.   I thought they looked like coots, but I had to zoom in with the camera and then look when I got home, to make sure.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Woolen Mill in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Tuesday, after my breakfast, I headed downtown on my bike.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the window of A-1 Clothing.   The students are back.   I went through the student area on Saturday night and it was an orgy of red plastic beer cups–hundreds and hundreds of them…and the night was still young!  I hope they’re going to wash and recycle all those cups.  😮

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s looking like fall at the market.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A regular to our blog, The Naked Woman is packing her clothing optional suitcase and moving away–maybe to a nudist resort.   There is a For Sale sign in front of her house.  She will be missed.

Leave a Reply

