Ready, Set…Hip! Hip! Hooray!

I headed to work, via Market Square, about 4:30.  The check posts were already set up and they wouldn’t let me through with the bike, even though I just wanted to zip through and take a few pictures.   Some people had already scored their spots.   I headed back down after work, about 7, and it was definitely busier.  I was wandering around the square, when I noticed all kinds of cameras pointed in the direction of the message board.  It was our Prime Minister.   I followed him along but people kept getting in the way.  I finally got a great spot and had a great view, but the camera went fuzzy, as it is wont to do on occasion, so I gave up and just looked.   He said hello to the people on either side of me, but not to me.  Humpf.   He headed on over to the KRoc Center, on, you got it, Tragically Hip Way.  I poked around a bit more and then visited a friend in the area until the concert started.

At 8:30 I headed back into the fray.   I got into the crowd, and as soon as I was there, I wanted out.  It was hot, and packed.   I couldn’t see the screen, but the lights were pretty.  As usual, I couldn’t get good night pictures, but a couple turned out not too badly.  I’ll have to get myself a new camera or a phone or something.  Phones seem to have no problem at all taking night pictures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Clarence Street was set up with paramedics, toilets and a cooling center.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7:00

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Snipers guarding the Prime Minister.   I didn’t realize he was nearby when I took it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fans at the Confederation Hotel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He’s behind “his people”.   There was a huge, black security guard.   Someone said “You’re not Justin Trudeau!” and he laughed and was giving people high fives.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Down at Confederation Park.  This was muscle boat territory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I rode my bike home and there were cars parked all the way up to Raglan and Bagot.  I could hear the cheering from my back yard.  I am now watching the concert on the CBC.  It’s just winding down.   I am not a fan, but this is a very bittersweet day for Hip lovers.   What a tragic and triumphant ending.

Leave a Reply

