Stratford

Last year I was surprised to find out that Stratford is only an hour from Guelph, where I go regularly, at least when things go well.  I got to Stratford no problem, but coming home, the highway was closed due to an emergency.   Then the 401 came to a standstill, then I got lost in Kitchener.   A one hour trip became three hours.   Stratford itself was lovely though.  I took my bike and rode along the river, and around the center of town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Entrance to the park.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The theater and the swan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Taking a bow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lumpy, gnarly old willow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Shakespearean Garden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Most of the plants are ones that Shakespeare mentioned in his writings.   They also have to grow in our climate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Bard himself.  It’s all about the Bard.

Today I went to Gananoque.  The Weather Network said it was going to be the nicest of my days off, so I went, expecting to sit by the water and enjoy the town, but it rained on and off all day.   I’ll try it again soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

