Niagara on the Lake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Niagara on the Lake is renowned for it’s beauty.  This is a chic little neighbourhood where even Shopper’s Drug Mart had to adjust it’s Big Box look to fit in.   That’s pretty rare.  I remember seeing a Shopper’s in Sooke BC, that really stuck out like a sore thumb.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is some of the rest of the neighbourhood.  It was very nicely done.  It reminded me a bit of Garrison Village in Chilliwack, and in fact, the road in was called Garrison Village Road.  I don’t think they are connected though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the Jackson Triggs winery.   There are tons of wineries around, big names that even I, as a non-wine drinker, recognize.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My grand niece and I liked this tree.   There were a couple of them.  Anyone know what it is?   It looks like eucalyptus, but would they grow here?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t often see wisteria in Ontario, but there was quite a bit around town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A tulip past its prime, but still looking stunning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Interesting bench.  It looks like it’s made from parts of other things, but I wonder what those things would have been.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These were in a store window, but my guess is that they are costumes from the theater productions there.   Niagara on the Lake is the home of the Shaw Festival.   The niece liked the one on the left.  I went for the rounder looking middle one–but perhaps I should go for the shapeless look.  😮

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We met the horses.   The first one left but the second one (white) is Gus, and the one behind is Eddie Spaghetti.  Montreal has had some controversy over their carriage horses.   I think they took them off the streets, from what I heard, but I don’t know if it is permanent.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Niagara Falls town is kind of cheesy, but the parkland all along the river between Niagara on the Lake and Niagara Falls, is quite gorgeous–splendidly done.

____________________________________________________________________

Back to Kingston– I took an elderly friend for a lilac drive today.   The ones in town are at their peak right now.   However, we were disappointed to find that the ones out in the country are pretty much over.   I guess it’s just that much cooler along the water.  I’ll have to remember that next year.

Leave a Reply

