Howe Island 1

Today was incredible.  It was 25 degrees when I checked at 6pm.   Tonight I was down in Sydenham District (previously Ward) and it was still warm.  The old houses with their golden windows looked gorgeous.   No biting bugs out yet–at least not in town–and I was just so thankful to be back in my hometown.   In March Kingston looks kind of bleak, but on a night like this, it is perfection.   The leaves have really come along this week.  They have had the heat and sunshine.   Now the big black clouds are moving in and we are to have three days of rain, for the weekend.

Anyway–yesterday I went to Howe Island, and this is what I found…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A yard just up from the ferry, with stone walls, bridges and cannons.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This trail looks great and it seems to go right across the island because I ran into it again on another road.  I’ll have to bring the bike and try it out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This looked like the remains of the old house, in the front yard of the new house.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was along the south side of the island, which is located in the St. Lawrence River.   I’m not sure what you’re seeing in the distance.   Wolfe Island (Can) and Grindstone Island (US) are both over that way, and there is a gap where you can see the US.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The only church I noticed on the island.   I went all over and saw no evidence of a village, store or community center.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the barn at the bottom of the hill in the above picture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is at the eastern end of the island where there is a ferry that lands close to Gananoque.  I have shown you photos of that landing in the past.   I think this is a boathouse and guest house.   There is a big house up the hill that matches this building.   Much of Howe Island is quite upscale.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We are into the Thousand Islands now and this is a little island next to the opposite ferry landing.   I have also shown this from a different angle.

I’ll have some more from Howe Island tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

