Across the Cataraqui

Today was a beauty of a day, after a couple of cool-ish ones.   Sunday at the market was wild and blustery.  Inventory was crashing all over the place.   But now we have three days in a row that are balmy and sporting big fat sunshines.   I am determined to enjoy them.   Today I went for a ride over to Hwy. 15, where I puttered down Gore Road and Butternut Creek Road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bird condos along Gore Road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that the snow is gone for good, construction has busted out all over!   It is everywhere you turn.    This is a new subdivision going in on the west side of Hwy. 15 at Rose Abbey Road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back of LaSalle High School and three new apartment buildings, just being finished off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Something being built next to the mini mall near Gore Road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Both these pictures are behind the brand new A&W and Mac’s Milk that are on Hwy 15 near the 401.   It looks like they are working on something behind there.   The ground is all scraped clear and there is large machinery.

Speaking of construction–the site at Wellington and Princess has had all the rubble trucked away, and a hole about 4′ deep has been dug.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our provincial flower and fresh new leaves are popping out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A hedge along Butternut Creek Road, throwing evening shadows.

A few more from this trip tomorrow, and my plan is to do a tour of Howe Island.   I’ve never been there.

Meanwhile, I ran into a couple of neighbours this evening and they depressed me no end.  I found out that our corner store is closing, and I also found out that Aunt Lucy’s has closed.   Apparently the owner died in March.   You can no longer watch the CKWS news online, and I’ve never been one to buy papers, so I miss out on the local news.  Aunt Lucy’s has been there forever!   A family that I knew went there every Sunday for years.  The last time I saw their mother, she took me there.   Another city stalwart gone.     😦

Leave a Reply

