Downtown K-Town continued

Today was a wet and dreary day, but the snow is going at a great rate.  Foghorns rang out on the Lake and City Park was steaming slightly as the rain hit the cold ground.   It was a day where the damp got right into my bones, and I am still cold, after being at home with an extra sweater and a blanket over me for quite a while.   But tomorrow the sun is coming out and I will be back on my bike.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The walkway through from Chez Piggy to King Street.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The rink is closed and this fellow was chipping away ice–not sure why–it’s melting fast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back of Pan Chancho.  Soon this will be their outdoor patio.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

King and Princess Streets.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like this.

The bad news is that yesterday, when I posted the picture of The Sleepless Goat, little did I know that it was their last day.  I found out about five minutes after I posted it.   Sad tidings for Kingston as another downtown business bites the dust.   😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s the reason why downtowns around the world are struggling.  The Cat Center has had a facelift, and this is the new façade.  If it can’t be separate big box stores, it will try to look like separate big box stores.

One thought on “Downtown K-Town continued

  1. Wow, you are so right about the downtown slipping away. I work downtown too and miss the lower Princess stores that used to be there I.e., Coles, Zellers, S&R, Fabricland to name a few….too sad.

Leave a Reply

