Bowling Green and Elmwood

I had to go do my laundry at that great little Surf’s Up Laundromat, and thought that while the laundry was going I would walk around the Bowling Green neighbourhood.  This is an area of apartment buildings just near the Kingston Shopping Center.  There are a few buildings that are newer, but most of the buildings have been there for a while–since I can remember, which is a looooooong time.   These are just apartment buildings and none of them are architecturally interesting, but I think that most people who have lived in Kingston would have several connections with these apartments.  I have known several people living here.   So I thought I would throw them in.   I am going to stretch these over two days.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Macdonalds, DQ, Consumer’s Distributing–these are a few of the businesses that I remember that are no longer in here.  I remember going to the DQ with some friends as a teenager, and you know how giggly teenage girls are.  Not being regulars at DQ, we thought it was hilarious that they served sundaes with peanuts, salted and in their skins!  Appalling!  Now it is the foodie fashion–but sea salt would be de rigueur these days.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

High density housing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a large piece of land belonging to the Sisters of Providence and Vincent de Paul Spiritual Center.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks like a community garden for the area?   Bath Road Baptist Church in behind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More tomorrow.  Y’all come back now ya hear?

2 thoughts on “Bowling Green and Elmwood

Leave a Reply

