Halloween!

This afternoon I found out that there was going to be a costume parade at Skeleton Park.   I thought that sounded like fun so I went up and took a look.   I LOVE my neighbourhood!  But before I head up the street, I want to show you the bugs that seem to be hunkering down for the winter next to where I park my bike.  No idea what kind they are.  Anyone?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They’re off!  They do a lap around the park.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not a great photo, but these are two baby dragons.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the house at Concession and Alfred, that decorates enthusiastically for any occasion.

2 thoughts on “Halloween!

  1. I have tried for years to find out what those bugs are called. I am always assured they are harmless, but they swarm my garden every September and smother everything. The parade at the park was terrific. Great pictures!

  2. This from Pest Control Canada:
    Box Elder Bugs cause concern in the autumn when they gather in considerable numbers on the warm outside walls of homes and sometimes find their way into houses looking for a suitable place to over winter.

    When they gain entry to buildings through cracks or other openings they remain in wall cavities and will occasionally emerge inside the home in the spring. They will not breed indoors, so there is no danger of starting an “infestation”.

    They cause no structural damage whatsoever but they can “spot” interior furnishings with their droppings. They can’t bite, they don’t eat anything on the inside of your house, including house plants, and they won’t harm you, your family or your pets.

Leave a Reply

