Picton-My Favourite Stores

Here in Ktown we are getting the tail end of Hurricane Patricia.  We are having prodigious amounts of rain, but the high winds have not so far materialized.  Let us return to Picton on a sunny day, last Friday.

I have shown you my favourite Picton stores before, but I just love taking pictures there, because they have such interesting stuff and have it arranged in such imaginative ways.  It’s not like I’m their best customer–I didn’t spend a cent there this time–but I just can’t get over what a fun place it is to look around.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is the end of the season and Surfer Girl is closed for the foreseeable future.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ironworld is still open, but is winding down.   They go on their shopping trips overseas during the winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were a few of these little guys around the property.   One went running right through the store.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More glorious colour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is my old house.  The front willow tree is gone, but the big oaks at the side are still there.   I just noticed that Google Streetview has finally done my old street.   It was the only street that hadn’t been done as far as I could tell, but now it is there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Scary times on Talbot St.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Three shots of Hill St., running above Picton Bay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Great viewpoint on the way to the bridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The bridge that connects Prince Edward County to the mainland.  It always freaks me out the way it goes way up and looks like you just go off the end of the world.   Farewell to Picton once again.  Tomorrow we stop briefly in Deseronto and then it’s back to Kingston.

Leave a Reply

