Cobourg

I took my time returning to Kingston from Guelph.   Going through Toronto is always a nightmare, and I’m not a big fan of highways, so I left the 401 at Port Hope.  I didn’t stop at Port Hope because I wanted to get to Cobourg for some lunch.  Maybe another time I’ll look around Port Hope.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The 401 in western Toronto, when we were slowed right down for a bit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The main drag –King St.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Victoria Hall, which is now a concert hall and art gallery.   I read the blurb about it, but I can’t remember what it said.  I think it was built about 1852.   It’s a very grand building for a small town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve seen these pianos around in other places, but never such a nicely decorated one!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back of the King. St buildings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Down by the Lake, which is only about 3 blocks from downtown, there are some very nice condo developments, walkways and parks.  I love these big planters!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I believe that Cobourg has become a big retirement center, because of it’s proximity to Toronto and lower prices, and I did see a lot of seniors about, but I think these two are probably younger locals.

Leave a Reply

