Wolfe Island–Big Sandy Bay

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Come one, come all!  Bring your plow!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the US/Canada border–a little tiny ferry called Horne’s ferry, on the southern side of Wolfe Island.   It takes you to Cape Vincent NY.   In the old days, I would ride my bike across and go over for the day.   I befriended an elderly lady there, and it was nice just for a change of scenery.   I haven’t been able to do that though because I don’t have a passport.   It’s on my list.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A house next to Horne’s Ferry.   When you do this trip, you go straight across the island and then make a sharp left turn.  From there to the ferry, the countryside is really beautiful, lush and rolling.   This house is lovely in the summer, but I bet it’s pretty bleak in the winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wolfe Island is home to a very large wind farm.  They are spread all over the western side of the island.  I don’t mind the looks of them myself but wind farms are very controversial here in Ontario.   We’re having some push back against solar farms as well now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went to find Big Sandy Bay.  Years ago I heard of a secret beach, but I never knew where it was until this week.  I HAD to check that out.  It is a 1.5km walk in from the parking lot, but it’s a very pretty walk.  I saw birds, turtles, some frogs and a garter snake on the way.  The man at Mosier’s store, possibly Mr. Mosier, said that in the old days you could only get to it by 4 wheeling it, because it goes right through a swamp.   But as you can see, the walkway is very civilized now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sign on this tree said Red Oak.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s not a wide beach, but very pleasant nonetheless.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walking back out again in the golden evening sun.

Leave a Reply

