Out and About

I got myself out quite a bit today.  I went for a bike ride up into the Heights, and then went with a friend to dinner in Eastview.  Here are some pics…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sumacs are looking all red and velvety now.  This is the new subdivision at Montreal St. and John Counter Blvd.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was the little Community Harvest Market behind St. Matthews Church on Weller Ave.  I bought some Hummus from them to try.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

80 Daly St. is gone!  I guess they will start pulling down the Wally Elmer Center next.  This is going to be a park.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love how all the elementary schools have little gardens now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The side of Rideau Heights Public School.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I was 10, Conacher Dr. was a brand new street.  A few months after my family moved in, the first Portuguese family arrived on the street as well.  They were amazing.  This was the first generation of Portuguese immigrants and they had been living in the old houses downtown, which were not much valued at the time.  They worked like dogs and saved and saved and then came out to the new houses and paid cash!   Over the next few years, many more Portuguese families came to Conacher and they were a shining example of teamwork.  Most of them were tradespeople, so on a weekend, all the men would get together and they would build a garage.  Then another weekend they would build another garage.  Then they would pave a driveway.  Then they would put cement borders along the driveways.  Then they would make wine.  Before you knew it, they all had garages and paved driveways with borders, and lotsa wine!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking towards Division St. over the quarry, from the back of the Skyline apartment buildings on Compton.  No sign of the Walmart being built yet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another vegetable garden, at the back of these big apartment blocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

York Street.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love this fence.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two scenes from Eastview.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An inviting, rocky nook in lower Barriefield.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ellice St. at Main.

I can’t begin to describe how happy I am to be finally back in Kingston.  I went through a lot to get here!  I LOVE my new ‘hood!   I love being able to walk downtown.  I love Skeleton Park.  I love riding my bike and being 15 minutes from work.  Life is good!

2 thoughts on “Out and About

Leave a Reply

