Murder in the Orchard

This is a little bit grim for a usually light minded blog, but I am reading a novel at the moment, which portrays the murder of a 13 year old girl, when she is out picking berries.  It makes me think of the murder of Valerie Drew in September, 1970.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was babysitting in this house the evening of the day she was murdered.   At the time, Wilson Street ended here and all was woods behind it.  That is where they found her body, and it was where my friends and I used to hang out.  I think there had been an orchard in there at one point, and  an old apple tree was our special place.  I remember that it was a warm night and I had the back door open for air.  Although she was my age, I didn’t know her:  she must have gone to a different school.  The murder was never solved.  I know that I still think about her quite a bit, as you can see.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is what is in the place of that woods now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Worthington Park trailer park, off Weller Avenue.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The quarry.  I never went near the quarry when I was a kid, but I know my brothers and sister did.  I think it is much larger now that it was then.  Those apartments are on Conacher Drive.  The side of that white apartment building faces west and it has windows all down the middle, I guess at the end of the hallways. (?)  Anyway, when I was coming home on a bus from Toronto or Guelph at night, I would know I was home when I saw that line of windows.  Now that the bus station has been moved, the buses tend to turn onto Sir John A Macdonald Blvd, which didn’t go to the 401 when I was here before, but you can still see that line of lights in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you can see, the quarry has a very large footprint.  I have heard that they plan to put a Walmart into this space.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You see quite a few of these relics around.  Old silos?  Fairy castles?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sun is setting.  The snow still looks pretty in the country, but in the city, it is mostly brown.

Leave a Reply

