Some Older Pictures

Yesterday I showed you the Portuguese Center, so I thought that I would show you a wonderful Portuguese event.  Two years ago I was living at Guy and Carleton.  I was told that the Portuguese had a couple of parades in the neighbourhood, so when I heard brass and drums, I went out to take a look.  Our Lady of Fatima church, which serves the Portuguese community puts on these parades two or three times a year.  It is just up the street from where I was living, so they march down Division St.,  up Guy, up Carleton and back to the church, just a few blocks.  I can’t remember what the occasion was for this parade.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I spoke to one middle aged man who was there and he said that this tradition is dying out.  It is mostly followed by the older people.  I think that is so sad, and that it should be a big city event, because we have such a good sized Portuguese population here.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

For the second part of my blog, I will take you on a couple more portions of the Cataraqui Trail, both done within the last month and a half.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This trip was about a 90 minute round trip east of MacGillivray Road.   You pass three or four little lakes along the way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This growing tree made a sharp turn when it hit rock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Someone’s house?  Beaver, muskrat?  Don’t beavers make their houses out in the middle of the water?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next trip took me from McFadden Road into Sydenham my favourite part of the trail so far.  The evening was grey with sunny breaks.  I had not meant to go into Sydenham but I was having such a nice time, I just kept going.   Being, for most of my life, a town or city girl, I kind of liked the mix of wilderness and signs of people, and I definitely enjoyed going along the side of Sydenham Lake.  Beautiful!  I got back to the car just as it was getting dark.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A very pleasant spot for sitting, with the roseate glow of the sunset.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

