Gananoque (cont’d)

Today is kind of a grey and dreary day, so let’s go back to sunny Gananoque…although looking at the pictures just now, I see that it was clouding over by the end of my visit.  Oh well.

First of all, I just noticed that I was missing the graphic of Don Knotts that I mentioned the other day.  Sometimes this WordPress does random things.  I’m sure I had included it, but it disappeared–but here he is in all his glory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kind of a nifty fungus.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the lost tourist.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Blinkbonnie was a very popular place when I lived here in the 80’s but it is looking sad now.  It’s up for sale.  A spiffy new Comfort Inn has been built behind it, but it doesn’t exactly fit the style of the neighbourhood.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

York

This is the bridge on the road coming in from Kingston.  It always reminds me of this bridge (below) coming into York, England, with the little gatehouse thing at the end.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The funny old lion in Town Park.  I have a picture of it from last winter with snow and ice all over it and just the nose sticking out.  It’s hardly fine public art, but he’s cute nonetheless.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Delaney Theatre is, alas, no longer operating.  It also looks picturesque but sad.  I wonder what they will do with this building.  There is a little makeshift movie theater in an industrial area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can’t say for sure, but my guess is that Donevan’s Hardware is an old landmark in Gananoque.  I heard rumours that it was going out of business when I lived there last spring, but it is still here, and I am happy about that.  It must be very hard though when there are both a big Canadian Tire and a big Home Hardware in the town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A bit of the downtown.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look at the wraparound porch on this baby!  This house is going through a renovation and I am sure it will look stunning when it is done.  The place is massive!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is on the way home, on the roof of the Glenburnie Grocery.  Convention?

Leave a Reply

