A beautiful fall day in Gananoque

I made a special trip to Gananoque today, had lunch with friends, bought cheap gas (prices in Gan are the best in the area) and walked around and took photos.  I just love Gananoque.  What a pretty town.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is quite a spectacular rock type garden on William St.  Beyond the yellow mums, it goes down to a lower level.  A lot of work went into this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Quite an interesting bird house.  I wonder if the birds are afraid of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is kind of an unusual looking house on Pine Street.  It’s big!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An attractive doorway and I like the trim over the door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

St. Andrews Church on Stone St.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The town bell.  It was wonderful to hear this ringing when I lived a few blocks away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Gananoque River just before it enters the St. Lawrence.  The town bell is up there and the wonderfully patterned roof is St. John’s Catholic Church.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back of the Gananoque Inn.  Lovely grounds and cottages.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The shops and galleries near the Thousand Island Boat Cruise launch.  There is a little museum in here too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Houses on the hill above the marina.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Gananoque Boat Lines tour boat, off to see some islands.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sparkles!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These chairs are dotted about Joel Stone Park and invite one to sit and relax and enjoy the view.  That is exactly what I did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is who the park is named after…a very appropriate choice.  A father of the town and a  hero in the War of 1812 when those dastardly Yanks were up to no good again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This block on Market Street has been torn down.  The building itself wasn’t much, but it had this fun graphic of Don Knotts on it.  I have no idea why there was a picture of Don Knotts there but as a friend said, why Knott?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I guess because I grew up in the area, I have always had a soft spot for stone work.  You don’t see a lot of stone work in Vancouver, and when I would see some, I would have a twinge of homesickness.  I love the stonework on these old warehouses on Mill Street.  They are unused at the moment, but hopefully they will turn into something marvellous at some future time.  The powers that be are wise to keep them.   What is interesting to me is that the stone in Gananoque is a warm gold colour, whereas, not that far away in Kingston, the stone is grey.  I have to say I like the warm gold better.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

