Cataraqui River

In a Part 2 to yesterday’s post–after I went to the cemetery, I drove down to the end of John Counter Blvd., which in my day, when I lived here before, was just plain old Counter St.   It’s kind of a nice spot of a summer evening.  There are a couple of older homes there, and a couple of businesses, and some rickety old docks.   My brother used to come down here as a kid and go swimming.  I guess it was a popular spot with the Rideau Heights kids, but I never went there.   At one time, not so long ago, it would have seemed quite rural, but now there is a subdivision.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking towards the 401.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some mighty big homes over on the eastern shore!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really do wish that Kingston would do more with their waterfront.  There could be trails all up the river and it could be quite fabulous.  We have so much waterfront, and why hide your light under a bushel?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The new subdivision.  It’s not quite finished yet.  Could use some more greenery.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way home–Round Lake.

Leave a Reply

